Ask our Engine Programmer: Brendan Jackson

• ShaderBoy

Developer

Posted:

Developer

Posted:
    johan26:

Hi Brendan ! I am a Level Design Student fan of CryEngine 3.

You must be so happy to work in a game for high end PC !
    It should let you unleashed your hunger of engineering.

-What kind of lightning will be used in StarCitizen ? A next Gen one like SVOGI Global illumination ? Or a more low performance coast one already inside CryEngine 3 ?
    Have you heard about this CRAZY technique from Guerilla Games with ImageBasedLightning + BRDF + Ray Tracing reflexions ?

I was shocked by this very early use of realtime raytracing reflexions in videogames ! Do you think you are able to use it in CryEngine 3 ? I am not graphic programmer but I think this technique is working with compute shaders isnt it ?
    Then it is more easy to acheived it on PS4 without DirectCompute / OpenCL bottleneck than on PC..
    But Nvidia look to be able to do it with Optix for CUDA Cores very well.

-What is actually the Vram budget target for the game ? I know a lot of us have a 1 or 2Gb In most of gamers GPU now but In maybe less than 2 years the next Nvidia & AMD GPUs will handle an average of 4 or 6 Gigs. Im sure this if a hard decision to make xP
    Maybe our virtual memory pool with DDR3 System could be usable ?

- Did StarCitizen & Squadron 42 will have some next gen technology like DX 11 Mesh Inscancing or Virtual textures ?

- Are you developping your own shader system or mastering this wonderfull Ubershader for CryEngine 3 ?

-Isnt too complicate in therms of netcode to handle with less bandwith usage as possible this zero gravity physics when more than 50 ships are on a server actually ? Or Maybe there is no Physics Gravity at all ?

You got all my respect for this outstanding work you are doing actually , good luck !
    Thanks for your time ; Johan. ( Sorry about my English if there is any mistakes ;) )

In the order you asked :)